Alvin Carrillo Interiview

2011 was not that long ago, do you think 2012 will be just as successful as it was last year?
I definitely feel there are going to be greater opportunities for me this year. I have a lot of plans for this year and a lot of people to back me. I’m really excited. More traveling as well.

Last February I was able to check out Glen E. Friedman’s exhibit at Subliminal Projects in Los Angeles and was reminded of todays photographers at shows for instance Dan Rawe, Manny Mares, Vanessa C-C, Zac Wolf just to name a few. Do you think years from now People would look back on your guys photos as those of Friedman’s pictures for us?
That’s tough to answer. I would certainly hope they do. Also in the sense that kids in the future appreciate the bands we enjoy today. Such as we enjoy the bands / people Friedman was able to shoot. There’s a lot of great photographers today, including the ones you named. They definitely have iconic work, in my opinion. I don’t see why they wouldn’t be looked at in that manner years from now. As far as my photographs go, I can only hope the same way. I’m very critical of my own work but regardless I hope I can make some kind of impact in the future. In a way, it’s a goal of mine.

Your Tumblr has been real consistent and updated frequently with the shows you’ve been attending, what were some of the best ones you have gotten to shoot at this past year?
Another tough one. Trash Talk at The Cabin was definitely a fun show to shoot. I got hurt pretty bad during that set (dives, hit in the head with a bass, head against a wall, kicked in the nose, etc) while trying to take photographs but I was pretty pleased with how they came out, as was Lee. Definitely worth it. All Cabin shows were great to shoot (The Rival Mob, Joyce Manor, Rotting Out, etc), Sound And Fury, etc. Too many to name.

I  currently reside in Japan right now. Being from the Inland Empire and Los Angeles area of California seeing some of the old venues and areas that I use to go to gets me stoked on your work. What do you think of all the bands coming out of the Los Angeles area right now i.e New Brigade, Rotting Out, Joyce Manor,  Xibalba, Soul Search, Minority Unit, Touche Amore, Downpresser etc. ?
There’s a ton of great bands from this area out right now. Especially the ones you named. Los Angeles is killing it right now. I think everyone can agree.

I once tried the vegetarian and vegan diets in high school but couldn’t follow up on it, what does being vegan mean to you and any favorite vegan restaurants to check out?
It’s definitely something I feel strongly about. I think it’s really important on many levels. There are numerous reasons to go Vegan and they aren’t very hard to research, so I suggest more people do so. Restaurants – One World in West Covina and next door there’s a place called Unique Pizza that will make you a pizza with Vegan cheese and Vegan sausage for a very reasonable price. Those are my two main attractions and have been for quite some time.

Do you prefer using DSLRs or film? Nice wide angle pictures by the way.
Really depends on what i’m shooting. I recently got into 35mm and I’m a huge fan of it. I enjoy DSLR when i’m shooting live bands most of the time. Film usually when i’m shooting more personal stuff. Thanks!

Having your photos being featured on the Minority Unit 7 inch, do you plan on collaborating with any other bands on getting your work used for merch or promotional features?
You’ll be able to spot some more stuff other than records that’s already in works with my photographs and i’m honored. I don’t believe I should reveal anything specific yet but to just answer the question, definitely.

Having a store online to sell your prints, which photos have been picked up the most?
I just did a limited run of American Nightmare prints that went out pretty quick but people have definitely been interested mostly in the Minority Unit and Ceremony / Have Heart photographs. I get asked a lot about other bands but I haven’t established prints with them yet.

Ever thought about doing an exhibit or having your photography displayed ?
I recently spoke with The Glasshouse over here in Pomona and you may be able to see some of my work from Glasshouse shows hanging in The Glasshouse Record Store soon. I’m usually weird about the idea of an exhibit though. I always feel I need to compile more work.

Through out last year you also made videos of Ceremony, Xibalba, Shadowrunners , Odd Future, Seahaven, Title Fight and many others.Are music videos something we can look forward to this year?
Definitely, definitely, definitely. Details soon. Promise.

I saw some zines posted a while back, plan on putting anything new out soon? 
There’s a few collaboration zines in the works but nothing too official. You can expect a zine from me this year though.

Anything you’d like your readers to know about Alvin Carrillo?
I enjoy shooting as much as you enjoy being there. I appreciate your support more than you know.

Leave a Reply

